Anne Frank Gets On YouTube

The Anne Frank House Wednesday released the only existing film images of Frank, showing the young Jewish girl, whose famous diary detailed her family’s two torturous years spent in hiding from the Nazis, in a more carefree time as she watches a bride and groom from her apartment balcony in Amsterdam. In the grainy black and white YouTube video, Frank is shown leaning over the balcony to watch an eager young newlywed couple as they walk past the sidewalk adjacent to the Amsterdam apartment Frank lived in before she and her family moved into the annex behind father Otto’s office to escape Hitler’s regime. The July 22, 1941 video is the first-ever released film image of Frank. It was given to the Anne Frank House from the married couple, who lived on the same floor as the Franks.

I think it’s very effective, ties her into the here and now which will hopefully help keep the message alive, the lesson of the Holocaust is that this must never happen again to anyone. The need to remain vigilant is as pressing as ever, contemporary Nazis & sympathisers are going to be on Question Time, the BBC apparently finding their ideas compelling and speaking at the Tory party conference.

7 Responses to “Anne Frank Gets On YouTube”

  1. Jay Vos Says:

    Sorry, I meant to comment earlier. Thanks for this truly remarkable video, which I’ve been sharing.

  2. RickB Says:

    Hey Jay, yes it’s really something, maybe it’s the pervasive media culture we have but it seems to make her more real all over again.

  3. earwicga Says:

    I can’t watch the video as I just know it will upset me.

    As for saying, “the lesson of the Holocuast is that this must never happen again to anyone.”

    It has happened again, frequently, all over the world. Just not in Germany.

  4. RickB Says:

    Yes, I didn’t say it hadn’t, I meant the lesson remains important even more so after each subsequent genocidal act. And that it is ‘anyone’ not the version some extremists prefer of narrowing it to ‘Jews’ which they use to rationalise the attack on Gaza for instance.

    • earwicga Says:

      Yeah I know. But, I found learning about this holocaust profoundly upsetting as a child, and that still hasn’t left me. The Diary of Anne Frank is frequently used in educating children about this holocaust, and I for one, do not think it is appropriate to teach primary aged children this topic. Just my opinion though, obviously.

      It is great there is a video to show Anne Frank as real though.

  5. Jay Vos Says:

    As i watched the film clip I reflected on the juxtapostion of the mundane with the nightmare which followed. Traffic, pedestrians, bicycles, a girl leaning out the window, her life about to be interrupted by the most unspeakable horror. How ordinary the world looks in this film! That’s frightening.

    Last year, when I was in A’dam, I visited the house where my parents lived – also in the south part of town, near the Franks’ apartment building… I had a photo taken of my parents house just after I was born in 1948; in 2008 the area is quite much the same! I wonder when I am there, “what was seen from those windows… if the trees along canals and streets could talk!”

  6. RickB Says:

    Quite arresting, to be so close and familiar with the area and indeed how normal it seems, this darkness lurks around us at all times.


Comments are closed.

