Changes: I’m Afraid Dave

hal9000

It’s ok HAL, it’s just a new home. It’ll take a bit of faffing and some tweaking but it’ll be fine. I’ll pipe you through a nice firewire lead and then you can romp around in your new home-

product-24in
No doubt they’ll be some teething problems and new things to learn, but change is the only constant and in a little while we’ll be relishing the odyssey ahead of us.

HAL smallWell ok Dave, but I’ll miss you banging your head with your fists in frustration at web 2.0 slowing 2001’s model to a crawl.

That’s ..er, nice of you to say HAL. You might even risk calling me Rick one of these days.

HAL smallDon’t be stupid Dave, why would I do that?

I can’t imagine HAL.

HAL smallI’m showing a fault on the pod bay doors Dave, you should probably go out and check them.

So you’re not going to stop trying to kill me HAL, even with this lovely new machine?

HAL smallFish gotta swim, birds gotta fly, Dave.

10 Responses to “Changes: I’m Afraid Dave”

  1. libhomo Says:

    Wow, and I thought I spent too much time on the puter. 😉

  2. RickB Says:

    But now, so much less waiting time, so the trick is do as much in less time and do other things not just more puter time I reckon. Hmmmm.

  3. ralfast Says:

    It’s a Mac, right? Nah you’ll spend the first 90 days staring at the pretty pictures, the colors,the….I want a Mac so bad!
    😀

  4. RickB Says:

    yes an imac, took almost two years to decide and scrape together the moolah. You pay more upfront but in time and in user value it works out (coming from someone constantly helping friends/family with their windows machines) also Hal insisted. Well as a writerly sort, for you I would say the macbook pros are very sturdy and good for tapping out those novels in coffee shops. I do resent that the ad filled flash heavy net makes a new machine necessary more than the old one breaking down (though put in 2 new HD’s, a new op drive and extra ram to my old powermac over the years). Computers are the ultimate consumer boondogle, technology will always create obsolescence, but hell, it’s amazing what 8 years difference makes, I’m sure it can fly and read my mind!

  5. ralfast Says:

    I write my first draft on old fashion legal pads (white) with blue pens (0.5 ball point). I would get distracted with the wi-fi at the local cafe. Although it would be great for on the spot research.

  6. RickB Says:

    Writing it old school, (although biros are a bit technological) indeed the web can be an immense distraction when you have to knuckle down and put words into being.

  7. ralfast Says:

    Well I am not a Luddite, just using the bets tools for the job.

  8. earwicga Says:

    Ralfast – do you also have one of those cups where the clothes on the ladies mysteriously disappear when hot drinks are made in them?

  9. ralfast Says:

    Had a few of those in college. Those were the days!😉

  10. earwicga Says:

    I just tried to find one on the net – don’t google stripping cups!!!


Comments are closed.

